The Xi Tau Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. was chartered on March 3, 1984, in North Dallas County (Texas), and assigned chapter key #607. North Dallas and the surrounding suburbs were experiencing explosive growth during the early 1980’s, driven by rapid business expansion, followed by an influx of young professionals and college graduates who were recruited by various corporations. Needless to say, numerous Alpha men were among the ranks of those fueling the population growth of North Dallas, and with that came opportunities to bring Alpha’s dynamic leadership and service to the North Dallascommunity.

Twenty-two charter members shared in the excitement and celebration of the newly established Xi Tau Lambda Chapter. They were:


Bro. James Allen, Jr.
Bro. Kenneth O. Baker
Bro. Craig E. Brown
Bro. Cedric A. Carr
Bro. Rodney Carter
Bro. Desi A. Crouther
Bro. Rory W. Chandler
Bro. Robert S. Gordon
Bro. Oliver N. Greene
Bro. Stephen A. Gregg
Bro. David Hines
Bro. Steven Jackson
Bro. Albert Johnson (Omega Chapter)
Bro. Ronnie Johnson
Bro. Elvin Magee
Bro. Michael McCain
Bro. Billy Owens
Bro. Willie A. Reeves, Jr.
Bro. Sylvester Taylor
Bro. Nathan Watkins (Omega Chapter)
Bro. Boyce Willis
Bro. Leon Wilson

Shortly after its formation, Xi Tau Lambda Chapter was fully integrated into all levels of the fraternity, with many of its members holding key leadership positions at the state, regional, and national level. The hallmark of the chapter’s early success was rooted in the brothers’ ability to execute flawlessly Alpha’s national programs, such as Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Project Alpha in conjunction with the March of Dimes, voter registration initiatives, and educational endeavors behind our Go-to-High-School, Go-to- College program. As a testimony to such a stellar legacy of leadership in a short time span, in 1995, Xi Tau Lambda Chapter was one of 15 chapters nationwide to receive a special grant from the W. K. Kellogg Foundation to pioneer a teen male mentoring and rites of passage initiative called the Sankofa Project.


To establish ongoing support for the youth initiatives of the Sankofa Project, the Xi Tau Lambda Foundation was established as a separate, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization. In 1996, the chapter held its first Alpha Legacy Celebration, which has become the chapter’s premier fundraiser. All proceeds from this event go to support the chapter’s educational goals and programs under the auspices of the Xi Tau Lambda Foundation.

Xi Tau Lambda Chapter has also established several local partnerships within the Dallas arts community over the years, bringing a strong sense of cultural enrichment and arts outreach programs to African American youth. As a result, the chapter has enjoyed a more than ten-year partnership with The Dallas Black Dance Theater, the city’s premiere performing dance company; an alliance with Junior Players, an arts outreach organization for kids and teens; and The Black Academy of Arts and Letters, a cultural oasis across all art forms.


Other historical milestones achieved by Xi Tau Lambda Chapter was in 1999, when teaming up with Alpha Sigma Lambda Chapter to co-host Alpha Phi Alpha’s 93rd Anniversary Convention (83rd General Convention)–the last convention of the 20th century. The national convention had not been held in Dallas since the fraternity’s “Diamond Jubilee” convention in 1981.  In which 2017, the 54thTexas Council of Alpha Chapters (TCAC) District Convention was hosted by Xi Tau Lambda in Richardson, TX.


We remain steadfast in our march onward and upward toward the light and aspire to leave a legacy of leadership set forth by the “Jewels” of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity.

2019-2021 Chapter Officers

Bro. Gerry Fisher
Bro. LaCarlos Williams
Recording Secretary
Bro. Dwaine Austin
Bro. Mancil Carroll
Bro. Andrew Forest
Dir. of Educational Activities
Bro. Adrian Escalante
Bro. Johnathan Robinson
Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Charles Hearns
Financial Secretary
Bro. Mancil Carroll
Membership Coordinator
Bro. Frederick Nickens
Bro. Shane Gilmore
Assoc. Editor of the Sphinx
Bro. Barclay Hayes
Bro. Tim Foster

Alpha Leadership

Xi Tau Lambda Brothers have proudly served the Fraternity at all levels of leadership (District, Regional & National). They have served as officers, committee members and committee chairman.

Bro. Albert Johnson
10th Texas District Director

Omega Chapter

Bro. Lewis Brewer
17th Texas District Director
Bro. Chris Loupé
Texas District Financial Sec.
Bro. Dr. Willie Edwards
14th Texas District Director
Bro. Kevin Crawford
Southwestern Regional CFO
Bro. Frederick Nickens
Texas District Historian
Bro. Dale Long
National Chairman,
Big Brothers Big Sisters

Chapter Presidents

Dedicated to the Alpha Men who have led Xi Tau Lambda over the years. Their leadership was instrumental in shaping the success of the chapter.

** Omega Chapter

First of All, Servants of All, We Shall Transcend All